(Senoia, GA – April 28, 2013)  Senoia’s Joe Armistead, Jr., made his season debut at his hometown track Saturday night and did not disappoint his family and friends.  The veteran late model competitor scooted past Glenn Morris early in the race and then never looked back posting his first win of the season in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model division.


Joining Armistead in victory lane were Alabama’s Kelly Leonard in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Newnan’s Marcus Caswell in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, Barnesville’s Gary Parker in the Mini Stocks, Villa Rica’s Todd Brewster in the Modified Mini and Moreland’s Michael Mills in the Bombers.


A scary crash involving Bomber driver David Johnson of Griffin hushed the crowd during the final race of the night.  Johnson clipped the back stretch wall coming off of turn two and then barrel rolled his race car three times down the straightaway.  After several minutes, Johnson walked to the ambulance.


In the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models, Fayetteville’s Glenn Morris held the pole position after winning the qualifying heat race.  Morris held the inside line as Joe Armistead, Jr. used the top lane.  Armistead was able to work past Morris as they tussled side by side and then ran to the checkers.  Morris would have to settle for second after a good race with LaGrange’s Tod Darda.


It took several laps for Kelly Leonard to work past Stockbridge’s Jeff Carter in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets.  Carter was running the low line until lap four when Leonard was able to work under him coming out of turn one.  Leonard pulled away leaving Carter to fend off West Point’s Thomas Phillips and Newnan’s Corey Payton.


On lap seven, Payton spun on the top side of turn one.  Newnan’s Johnny Stinchcomb was running the same line and could not move down the track in time to avoid the spun Payton clobbering him nearly head-on.  Neither driver was injured in the crash.


Phillips continued to pursue Carter for the second place position, but Carter would pinch off Phillips with blocking moves to both sides.  Phillips looked to have created a break in the armor on lap eleven, but spun in turn four breaking a rear shock.


Lake Spivey’s Dow Kirkland was able to get past Carter on lap 14 when Carter bobbled in the second turn, but Kirkland could not track down Leonard as the Alabama hot shoe won for the first time this season at Senoia Raceway.  Carter finished third ahead of rookie points leader Billy ‘The Kid’ Stevenson and Jason Miller.


“I love this track,” shouted Kelly Leonard in victory lane.  “The owners really care about the drivers and the fans are the best in the world.”


Marcus Caswell held off all challenges in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks.  First Tyrone’s Jamie Simmons tried valiantly to overtake the veteran Caswell and then LaGrange’s Jake Traylor took his best shot.  Caswell calmly kept them at bay to win his first of the season.  Traylor ended up second ahead of Covington’s Sam ‘Bam’ Carter.


Gary Parker battled side by side for the lead with Hampton’s Mark ‘Mad Dog’ Newton for several laps of the Mini Stock feature.  Parker was able to wrestle away the lead for good on lap eleven to win for the second time this season.  The previous week’s winner, Bobby ‘Wild Child’ Arnold of Newnan, finished third ahead of Douglasville’s Rocky Johnson and LaGrange’s Jeremy Stokley.


Todd Brewster finally completed all the laps to win the Modified Mini feature.  Brewster had been leading the main event for the modified four cylinder class the past two weekends only to develop problems and dropping from the race.  Brewster said the car was running hot again, but not enough to drop and give up the checkered flag.


Michael Mills continued his team’s domination in the Bomber division.  Mills and teammate Jay Conner have won all four features this season while swapping time behind the wheel.  Newnan’s Michael Nelms finished second ahead of Riverdale’s Mike Ray which also completed the trifecta for drivers named Michael.


This Saturday, May 4, Senoia Raceway will welcome the National Vintage Racing Association to the 3/8ths mile bullring.  Restored race cars from the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s will compete in heats and features along with the six weekly divisions of Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models, Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, Mini Stocks, Bombers and Modified Mini.  The Bombers will compete in a special feature with some extra prize money on the line.


The pits open at 5pm.  Grandstands at 6pm.  Hot laps crank up at 7:15pm.  Racing will go green at 8pm.  Grandstand ticket prices will be $12 for adults; children twelve and under are admitted for free.  Pit passes are $25 for adults; children 4 through 12 are $12; three and under are admitted for free.  Trackside Parking and Tailgating is also available on a limited basis and includes access to the pit area. 


Senoia Raceway is located just five miles west of Senoia, GA on Georgia Highway 16.  Easy access from both Interstate 85 or Interstate 75.


For more information, visit the Senoia Raceway website at or call the speedway at 404.796.1435.


Official Results from April 27, 2013

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models:

(Feature) 1-Joe Armistead, Jr., Senoia  2-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  3-Tod Darda, LaGrange  4-Nicky Prosser, Newnan  5-Craig Scott, Newnan  6-Dusty Jones, LaGrange  (Heat Winner) Morris

Newnan Bonding B Cadets:

(Feature) 1-Kelly Leonard, Opelika, AL  2- Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey  3-Jeff Carter, Stockbridge  4-Billy Stevenson, Stockbridge  5-Jason Miller, Fayetteville  6-Shaun Dailey, Senoia  7-Thomas Phillips, West Point  8-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  9-Corey Payton, Newnan  10-Roger Arnett, Lanett, AL  11-Blake Griffin, Grantville  (Heat Winners) Carter & Griffin

Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks:

(Feature) 1-Marcus Caswell, Newnan  2-Jake Traylor, LaGrange  3-Sam Carter, Covington  4-Kerry Carden, Brooks  5-Steven Parker, Temple  6-Jamie Simmons, Tyrone  (Heat Winner) Caswell

Mini Stocks:

(Feature) 1-Gary Parker, Barnesville  2-Mark Newton, Hampton  3-Bobby Arnold, Newnan  4-Rocky Johnson, Douglasville  5-Jeremy Stokely, LaGrange  6-Brandon Brock, Hampton  7-Brandon Libri, Newnan  8-Tim Pettigrew, Newnan  9-Tyler Waits, Newnan  (Heat Winners) Pettigrew & Newton


(Feature) 1-Michael Mills, Moreland  2-Michael Nelms, Newnan  3-Mike Ray, Riverdale  4-Dean Carey, Newnan  5-David Johnson, Griffin  (Heat Winner) Mills

Modified Minis:

(Feature) 1-Todd Brewster, Vila Rica  2-Robbie Scadron, Sharpsburg  3-John Capps III, Auburn, AL  4-Allen Brewster, Villa Rica  DNS: Heath Brewster, Bremen; Lane Wilt, Newnan  (Heat Winner) Todd Brewster


Leave a Reply

to top