May 26, 2012 (Senoia, GA)   Race fans at Senoia Raceway are beginning to scratch their heads and wonder who is going to beat Joe Armistead, Jr.  The local Senoia hot shoe won his sixth Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model feature of the season on Saturday night.  Armistead was not the fastest, but he was the winner when the checkered flag flew over the field.


Hamilton’s Brand Lewis bested the field for his first Senoia Raceway victory this season in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets.  Carrollton’s Clifton Moran topped the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks while Newnan’s Brandon Bright and Jay Conner won their respective main events in the Mini Stocks and Bombers.  Temple’s Allen Brewster topped the short field of Modified Minis.


“Where do you have the horseshoe hidden,” track announcer Ted Austad asked Joe Armistead after winning from the pole position.  Armistead was fourth fastest in early qualifying runs, but fast timer Tod Darda rolled a four on the inversion dice roll.  The lucky roll, for Armistead, landed him in the number one spot for the main event.  Armistead did not waver as he shot out to the lead over Hamilton’s Thomas Lewis and then cruised to his sixth win of the 2012 campaign.


The racing in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models was left to the drivers vying for third place as fast qualifier Tod Darda of LaGrange battled with Stockbridge’s Trey White.  White and Darda touched in turn two on lap three which caused both to slow.  Newnan’s Craig Scott had no where to go and clipped White before Thomaston’s Laddie Fulcher slammed in Scott’s ‘Zero Hero’ Chevrolet.  The crash ended both Scott’s and Fulcher’s night early.


Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model point’s leader, Racin Jason Williams of Locust Grove climbed up the rundown finishing in fourth to maintain his lead over Darda going into this weekend’s racing action.


Brand Lewis used his lucky draw of the pole position to his advantage as well.  Lewis returned to Senoia Raceway for thie first time in 2012 and held off the field to post the victory for the Newnan Bonding B Cadets.  Points leader Thomas Mewborn of Greenville posted his seventh second place finish in eight races while Stockbridge’s Jeff Carter was third.  Whitesburg’s Jason Causey and Newnan’s Corey Payton rounded out the first five.


Defending Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock champion, Clifton ‘Hog Head’ Moran, worked past Senoia’s Winford Minix on lap three of the feature race and then held off LaGrange’s Dusty Jones for the victory.  Jones and Minix kept the crowd anxious with a classic Senoia Raceway duel while Moran pulled away.  Minis faded late dropping to the fifth place spot behind Moran, Jones, Grantville’s Austin Horton and Newnan’s Rusty ‘Rocketman’ Johnson.


Loganville’s Bill Brown finished eighth but inherited the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock point’s lead as Kerry Carden was absent from the holiday weekend race card.  Moran is second behind Brown in the updated point standings.


Brandon Bright became the first three time winner in the Mini Stock the season.  Bright won an early heat race which helped him secure the pole position.  He battled with defending Mini Stock champion Gary Parker for most of the 15-lap main event.  Parker would fade late allowing Bright to cruise to the win.  Parker crossed the line second, but was disqualified after post race inspection found his mustang with solid lifters.


Newnan’s Brandon Creech and Senoia’s Robert Caldwell were in a final lap fight for the third place spot when they came up on a lapped car.  Caldwell shot past on the low side, but was clipped sending him out and into the back stretch wall.  Caldwell’s Ford Pinto bounced hard of the wall and then rolled back across the speedway where Villa Rica’s Wayne King clobbered him.  The crash allowed Creech to take home third ahead of Douglasville’s Erik Hogsed and Douglasville’s Rocky Johnson.


The Mini Stock division will run a special extended lap feature paying a little more purse this upcoming Saturday, June 2nd.  Mini Stock mania should bring some of the best racing so far this year from the four cylinder stock car division.


Jay Conner became the seventh different feature winner in eight races for the Bomber division.  Conner passed 88-year-old Papy Powell on an early race restart and then held off Griffin’s Jonathan Archer for the victory.


Senoia Raceway will crank back up this Saturday, June 2nd.  The Summer Break-Out Special will feature the Mini Stock extended lap main along with a full night of points racing for the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models, Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks and Bombers.


The pit gates will open at 5pm.  Grandstand gates will open at 6pm.  Hot laps are at 7pm with the first green flag set to fly at 8pm.  Senoia Raceway continues to offer very affordable ticket prices.  Grandstand admission is only $12 for adults, $5 for children ages six through twelve while children five and under are admitted for free.


For additional information on Senoia Raceway, visit the speedway website at, join their family of friends on Facebook or call the speedway at 770-599-6161.


Official results for Saturday, May 26, 2012

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models

Feature:  1-Joe Armistead, Jr., Senoia  2-Thomas Lewis, Hamilton  3-Tod Darda, LaGrange  4-Jason Williams, Locust Grove  5-Trey White, Stockbridge 6-Shane Fulcher, Thomaston  7-Parrish Duncan, Newnan  8-Steven Endicott, Newnan  9-Brandon Miller, Newnan  10-Craig Scott, Newnan  11-Laddie Fulcher, Thomaston  DNS-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  Fast Qualifier: Darda (15.070 seconds)


Newnan Bonding B Cadets

Feature:  1-Brand Lewis, Hamilton  2-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville  3-Jeff Carter, Stockbridge  4-Jason Causey, Whitesburg  5-Corey Payton, Newnan  6-Charlie Garrett, Wets Point  7-Buck Williams, Watkinsville  8-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  9-Thomas Phillips, West Point  10-Bill Pitt, Locust Grove  11-Josh Pitt, Stockbridge  12-Kerry Bradley, Bowden


Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks

Feature #1:  1-Clifton Moran, Carrollton  2-Dusty Jones, LaGrange  3-Austin Horton, Grantville  4-Rusty Johnson, Newnan  5-Winford Minix, Senoia  6-Zack Sockwell, Newnan  7-David Chapman, Douglasville  8-Bill Brown, Loganville  9-Billy Gause, Newnan


Mini Stocks

Feature:  1-Brandon Bright, Newnan  2-Brandon Creech, Newnan  3-Erik Hogsed, Douglasville  4-Rocky Johnson, Douglasville  5-Victor Parrish, Roopville  6-Stephen Hill, LaGrange  7-Tim Pettigrew, Newnan  8-Robert Caldwell, Senoia  9-Wayne King, Villa Rica  10-Trey Wood, Newnan  DNS-Matthew Cornwell, Douglasville; Robbie Scadron, Sharpsburg; Dorough Bright, Newnan; Bo Chambers, Griffin.  DQ: Gary Parker, Barnesville  Heat Winners: Brandon Bright & Parker.



Feature:  1-Jay Conner, Newnan  2-Jonathan Archer, Griffin  3-Chris Steele, Franklin  4-Terri Thomaston, Franklin  5-Devin Bowen, Jackson  6-David Johnson, Griffin  7-Pappy Powell, Hogansville  8-George Purgason, Hoganville  9-Jonathan Hemmings, Newnan  DNS-Brandon Jones, Newnan.


Modified Mini

Feature:  1-Allen Brewster, temple  2-John Caldwell, Senoia  3-Lane Wilt, Newnan  DNS-Michael Morgan, Carrollton


Leave a Reply

to top