(June 15, 2014 – Senoia, GA) Dennis Hale of Lagrange lasted through three attempts to get a green flag lap and then cruised wire to wire claiming the checkered flag and big pay day at Senoia Raceway Saturday night. Hale bested the field of sixteen starters to win the Country Financial Father’s Day Late Model Summer Shoot-Out and took home the $1,550 winner’s share. It was Hale’s first race back after early season engine problems.

Other winners during Saturday night’s special event included Greenville’s Thomas Mewborn in the Newnan Bonding B Cadet, Hampton’s Marc Leath in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock and Carrollton’s Aubrey Merrit in the Mod Mini. Alabama’s Paul Walters topped the A1 Hydraulics Bomber while Franklin’s Ben Steele was awarded the victory for the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock.

The late model drivers were anxious to get the race rolling as they were eager to chase the largest purse ever posted by fifth year promoter Tim Moses. Polesitter Joe Armistead, Jr. of Senoia jumped the gun on the first attempt while the second attempt ended in a huge pile-up in turn two. The accident sent Armistead to the pits along with Hamilton’s Thomas Lewis and Senoia’s Clint ‘Cat Daddy’ Smith.

When the race did finally stay green, Hale posted the lead position with Fayetteville’s Glenn Morris holding down second. Thomaston’s Shane Fulcher ran third with Lagrange’s Dusty Jones badgering him in every corner.

Phenix City, Alabama’s Dana Eiland was making the strongest charge of the night. Eiland struggled during qualifying and started the night near the back of the field. He charged up to seventh before the final flag flew over the field.

Up front, it was Hale all the way. Morris, Fulcher and Jones followed with Roopville’s Clifton ‘Hog Head’ Moran rounding out the first five finishers. Waverly Hill’s Dewayne Johnson was sixth followed by Eiland and Newnan’s Corey Payton. Brook’s Jayce Southwell and Hamilton’s Brand Lewis completed the top ten.

Former Newnan Bonding B Cadet champion, Thomas Mewborn, shot out to the lead at the drop of the green flag for his feature and never looked back. Mewborn posted his first win of the year ahead of Alabama’s John Capps III and Jonesboro’s Jason Miller. The division is preparing for it’s special event on Saturday, July 5th where the posted winner’s purse is $1000.

A scary crash marred a great race in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock. Franklin’s Chris Steele jumped out to the lead leaving Milner’s Ben Wells chasing him. Griffin’s Chad Foster and Williamson’s Houston ‘Hoot Daddy’ Hatchett were racing hard for third place when the two locked up in the third turn. As the duo spun, Hatchett rolled up the track and into the path of a fast moving Sam ‘Bam’ Carter of Covington. Carter had no where to turn and slammed into Hatchett tearing up both cars badly.

Steele would go on to win an apparent third race of the season, but his machine was disqualified later in the post race tech for being two pounds light. Steele was running aluminum brake calipers which pushes a weight penalty at Senoia. Unfortunately, the added laps under caution may have caused Steele to use more fuel and his weight came up just short of the needed limit with the calipers.

“That is always a tough situation,” said track promoter Tim Moses. “I hate it for a guy that is such a strong competitor.”

The second place car of Ben Wells was also found to be illegal in post race tech which pushed Ben Steele to the winner’s circle for the second time this season. The adjusted finishing order also saw Chad Foster and Brook’s Mike Jenkins move into the top three.

An early race skirmish between Marc Leath and Barnesville’s Gary Parker ended up with Leath getting the final nod. Leath and Parker locked horns early in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock main. Both drivers showed their tempers during a brief caution to realign the field for a restart. But when the dust settled and the checkers flew, Leath had won his second of the season with Parker in second. Newnan’s Brandon Libri was third.

Paul Walters held off every thing that Senoia’s Dusty Smith could throw at him to win the A1 Hydraulics Bomber feature. Smith tried valiantly to get a run on Walters, but to no avail as the veteran claimed the victory. Smith was second ahead of Griffin’s top Bomber rookie Alex Rudolph. The A1 Hydraulics Bomber division will be featured this Saturday with their annual summer championship race.

The Modified Mini have struggled this season with car count, but last weekend half a dozen cars showed up and Aubrey Merritt was the class of the field. Merritt won by nearly a straightaway over Sharpsburg’s Robbie Scadron and Carrollton’s Dusty Smith.

The ‘Bull Ring’ at Senoia Raceway cranks back up this Saturday, June 21st as the A1 Hydraulics Bomber division gets their shot at a championship race. All six of the track’s weekly divisions will be racing. Grandstand admission and pit pass prices will remain the same for this special event.

The pit gates will open at 5pm this Saturday. Grandstand gates open at 6pm. The drivers will take the track for hot laps beginning at 7:30pm. The first race of the night is at 8pm.

Ticket prices for grandstand admission is $12. Children ages 6-12 are $5. Kids five and under are admitted for free. Pit passes are $25 with children ages 3-12 $12. Kids two and under are admitted into the pit area for free.

Trackside parking is available on first come, first serve basis and includes access to the pit area.

Senoia Raceway is located just five miles west of Senoia, GA on Georgia Highway 16. Easy access from both Interstate 85 or Interstate 75.

For more information, visit the Senoia Raceway website at www.senoiaraceway.com or call the speedway at 404.796.1435.

Official Results from Saturday, June 14, 2014

Country Financial Father’s Day Late Model Summer Shoot-Out: 1-Dennis Hale, LaGrange 2-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville 3-Shane Fulcher, Thomaston 4-Dusty Jones, LaGrange 5-Clifton Moran, Roopville 6-Dewayne Johnson, Waverly Hill 7-Dana Eiland, Phenix City, AL 8-Corey Payton, Newnan 9-Jayce Southwell, Brooks 10-Brand Lewis, Hamilton 11-Joe Armistead, Jr., Senoia 12-Hunter Worley, Alvaton 13-Chad Harshburger, Senoia 14-Thomas Lewis, Hamilton 15-Clint Smith, Senoia 16-Tod Darda, LaGrange
Newnan Bonding B Cadet (Feature): 1-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville 2-John Capps III, Auburn, AL 3-Jason Miller, Jonesboro 4-Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey 5-Bennie Croy, McDonough 6-Donald Doyle, Locust Grove 7-Roger Arnett, Lanett, AL 8-Wesley Lyle, Bowden DNS: Marc Gooden, Lafayette, AL; Blant Duke, Whitesburg Heat Winners: Capps III; Mewborn
Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock (Feature): 1-Ben Steele, Franklin 2-Chad Foster, Griffin 3-Mike Jenkins, Brooks 4-Sam Carter, Covington 5-Houston Hatchett, Williamson 6-Ronnie Thacker, Grantville 7-Kerry Carden, Brooks DQ: Chris Steele, Franklin (aluminum brake calipers); Ben Wells, Milner (chassis)
Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock (Feature): 1-Marc Leath, Hampton 2-Gary Parker, Barnesville 3-Brandon Libri, Newnan 4-Harold Leath, Griffin 5-Cassie Dingler-Still, Newnan
A1 Hydraulics Bomber (Feature): 1-Paul Walters, Valley, AL 2-Dustin Smith, Senoia 3-Alex Rudolph, Griffin 4-John Holcomb, Griffin 5-Carley Arnett, Lanett, AL 6-Jim Jackson, Zebulon
Modified Mini (Feature): 1-Aubrey Merritt, Carrollton 2-Robbie Scadron, Sharpsburg 3-Dustin Smith, Carrollton 4-Dorough Bright, Newnan 5-Josh Copeland, McDonough 6-Todd Brewster, Villa Rica


Leave a Reply

to top