(Senoia, GA – August 4, 2019)  The annual ‘Back to School Bash – Monster Mania’ show at Senoia Raceway once again did not disappoint the hundreds of fans that filled the fifty year old race track on Saturday night.  Kids cheered, adults whistled and everyone enjoyed the display of awesome power with the massive, ever-popular Monster Trucks.


“They are just so big,” remarked track promoter Mayes Massey.  “How can you not be excited to see and hear these big machines do their stuff?”


Defending champion War Wizard, a 1941 Willys Pro Modified monster truck driven by RJ Turner of Maryland, successfully defended his title of a year ago.  Turner won over many in attendance early on in the show when he did a tailstand on the rear bumper of his ride during the ‘wheelie’ contest.  He solidified his adoration by jumping higher than his competitors during the ‘freestyle’ competition.  War Wizard launched over the inside concrete and cleared fifteen feet in the air with the crowd on it’s feet.  Florida’s Gunslinger, driven by Scott Hartsock, was a close second to Turner in ‘freestyle’ after winning the ‘wheelie’ and ‘racing’ events for the monster trucks.


“I think I won the wheelie contest,” said Turner afterwards.  “I mean I stood it up in the rear bumper.  I wanted to really get the crowd going in freestyle and reclaim my spot as number one at this track.”


The monsters were not the only ones celebrating Saturday night.  Newnan’s Johnny Stinchcomb has been a regular at Senoia Raceway since it returned to a dirt surface a decade ago.  The veteran driver had won a preliminary race back in 2011, but had been shut out from victory since that time.  That changed Saturday night as Stinchcomb held off all challenges from Fayetteville’s Scott ‘Golden Buy’ Shelton and Alabama’s Blake Bowen to win the Charger feature.  A late race caution set-up a green, white, checkered dash, but Stinchcomb held steady as Bowen charged to high in the second turn allowing him to scoot away and win the race.  Bowen would end up second ahead of Shelton with Locust Grove’s Jason Stevenson fourth and Brant Hardin of McDonough fifth.


Alabama’s Dan Eiland dominated an action packed race in the Late Model Sportsman feature.  Eiland would see his large lead diminish with only five laps remaining as he could not get past a couple of lapped cars racing for tenth place.  The traffic allowed for Locust Grove’s Billy Stevenson to close the gap, but not enough to steal away the lead.  Eiland would win ahead of Stevenson with Jamie Nicholson, Jr. finishing in third.


Stevenson’s second place run and Nicholson’s third place effort have catapulted them into third and fourth place respectively in the season point standing for the Late Model Sportsman division.  Both will have an opportunity to cash in on the season awards at the end of the year by finishing among the top drivers in the division.  This weekend, Saturday, August 10th, the Late Model Sportsman division will again compete for these valuable points along with an increased purse paying $2000 to the winner of the feature.


Auburn’s JJ Garrett led every lap of the mini stock race.  Alabama’s Bo Minor finished in second behind Garrett with Fairmount’s Kevin Mulkey in third place.


A post race disqualification in the Hot Shots delivered the victory to Tifton’s Eli Bradley while Cale Burford of Milner was the winner of the demoltion derby as a guest driver in a house prepared PT Cruiser.


The racing action continues this week at the 3/8ths mile track begins it’s stretch drive to the season final next month.  The Limited Late Models, Crate Late Models, Hobby Stock, Bombers, Mini Stock and Chargers will be racing along with the special event for the Late Model Sportsman.  The Hot Shots will also be allowed to race with the Mini Stocks.


The gates will open at 4pm for the pit area and trackside parking while the grandstand will open at 5pm.  The driver’s meeting takes place at 6pm with hot laps and qualifying scheduled for 6:30pm. Opening ceremonies takes place at 7:30pm.  Tickets are $12; kids 5-12 are $5 with four and under admitted for free.


For the full schedule of events along with special attractions, promotions and additional information, visit the track website at or call the speedway at 770.599.6161.


Official Results – Saturday, August 3, 2019   


Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Dana Eiland, Phenix City, AL  2-Billy Stevenson, Locust Grove  3-Jamie Nicholson, Jr., Locust Grove  4-Clint Smith, Senoia  5-Jack Mills, Griffin  6-Shane Payton, Newnan  7-Jamie Maurice, McDonough  8-McKenna Nelms, Newnan  9-Hunter Worley, Alavaton  10-Jake Traylor, LaGrange  11-William Blair, Whitesburg  12-Tanner Collins, Franklin  13-Chris Summerland, Dothan, AL  14-Jason Turner, McDonough  15-Bobby Arnold, Newnan  16-Dylan Knowles, Lannett, AL  17-Parris Simmons, Baldwin  18-Jason Williams, Locust Grove  Fast Qualifier: Eiland – 14.536 seconds/92.8 mph


Mini Stock (Feature): 1-JJ Garrett, Auburn  2-Bo Minor, Ralph, AL  3-Kevin Mulkey, Fairmount  4-Mark Newton, Hampton  5-Tony Coffman, Florence, MS  6-Joshua Till, McDonough  7-Shannon Etheridge, Carnesville  8-David Griffith  9-Bob Faulkner, Newnan  10-Cody Lively, Locust Grove  11-Dan Bennett, Loganville  DNS: Tommy Faulkner, Newnan  Fast Qualifier: Garrett – 16.763 seconds/80.5 mph (*new track record*)


Hot Shot (Feature): 1-Eli Bradley, Tifton  2-Nathan Farrow, LaGrange  3-Cory Greene, Griffin  4-Justin Bentley, Tifton  5-Bryson Ussery, LaGrange  6-Robert Holder, Milner  DQ: Cory Wilson, Locust Grove  DNS: Stacey Henderson, Senoia; Buck Ussery, LaGrange; Keith Ussery, LaGrange; Josh Allen, Douglasville


Chargers (Feature #1):  1-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  2-Blake Bowen, Dothan, AL  3-Scott Shelton, Fayetteville  4-Jason Stevenson, Locust Grove  5-Brant Hardin, McDonough  6-Lucas Pittman, Grantville  7-Kayla Boswell, Winston  8-Herndon Buie  DNS: Jimmy Baxter, Jr., Newnan


Monster Trucks:  Gunslinger (Wheelie Contest winner and Racing winner); War Wizard (Freestyle winner)



Leave a Reply

to top