(July 7, 2014 – Senoia, GA) Newnan’s Craig Scott jumped to the lead from his outside front row starting position as he beat pole-sitter Marc Gooden of Lafayette, Alabama to the first turn. Scott never looked back going flag to flag and posting his biggest win at the 3/8ths mile bull ring Senoia Raceway. The veteran racer pocketed the $1000 top prize claiming the Firecracker 30 special for the Newnan Bonding B Cadets.

Other winners on the holiday weekend special included Fayetteville’s Glenn Morris in the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model, Franklin’s Chris Steele in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock, Newnan’s Brandon Libri in the Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock, Alabama’s Paul Walters in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber and Carrollton’s Dustin Smith in the Modified Mini.

In front of a packed house, Scott stuck his car on the top side of the track and outran Gooden through the first turn snaring the lead down the back stretch. Scott survived a number of cautions and restarts before claiming his first win of the season. The 30-lap special was slowed by several cautions for spun race cars, accidents and cars stopped with mechanical issues.

Newnan Bonding B Cadet points leader Jason Miller of Jonesboro flew back from a family vacation for the special event. Miller may have wished he stayed in Florida as he was involved in several cautions and exited early with a badly damaged race car.

Scott had no issues and won pulling away from Marc Gooden. LaGrange’s Buck Ussery finished in third ahead of Newnan’s Parrish Duncan and Bowden’s Wesley Lyle.

Chris Steele battled with Williamson’s Houston Hatchett for the first fourteen circuits of the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock main before running side by side for a lap and a half and then securing the top spot. Steele won for the third time this season with Hatchett finishing second. Salem, Alabama’s Nathan McBride ran third in his first appearance at the track while Brook’s Mike Jenkins was fourth and Ben Steele of Franklin fifth.

Paul Walters led all laps in the A1 Hydraulics Bomber class, but it was not an easy win. Senoia’s Winford Minix pestered Walters the entire race making slight contact with him on a few occasions. Minix tactic did not waver the veteran as he claimed his second win of the season. Minix would settle for second with Griffin’s John Holcomb, Palmetto’s Josh ‘Hot’ Roddy and Griffin’s Alex Rudolph completing the first five.

“He bumped me a couple of times,” said Walters afterwards. “But that just told me to pick up the pace a little.”

Jodeco Auto Sales points leader Glenn Morris has been strong for the past six weeks winning twice, nabbing fast qualifier marks and running among the top three on a weekly basis. Morris claimed the top spot again on Saturday night as he bested Alabama’s Dana Eiland who had won the previous week. Eiland never was close as Morris had his Chevrolet dialed in to the bull ring. Thomaston’s Shane Fulcher was third followed by Grantville’s Austin Horton and Columbus hot shoe Pat Wall.

“It’s not easy to beat guys like that,” said Morris. “The car is just running good.”

Sixteen-year-old Brandon ‘Goose’ Libri moved into victory lane after apparent Senoia Drug Company feature winner Brandon Brock of Hampton was disqualified after refusing to tear down his engine after it was protested by another competitor. Brock chose not to tear down as he is selling his car in preparation for a move to the Legends Car division.

Dustin Smith won the Modified Mini race after leader Todd Brewster broke for the third straight week.

This Saturday, July 12, Senoia Raceway offers racers and race fans a double dose of racing. The series within a series, Jewel Series, returns for the second leg of a three night series. Each division will compete in a pair of feature races offering double the points for a single night of racing. The points accumulated go towards the driver’s year end tally, as well as, their ranking for the Jewel Series.

The pit gates will open at 5pm this Saturday. Grandstand gates open at 6pm. The drivers will take the track for hot laps beginning at 7:30pm. The first race of the night is at 8pm.

Ticket prices for grandstand admission is $12. Children ages 6-12 are $5. Kids five and under are admitted for free. Pit passes are $25 with children ages 3-12 $12. Kids two and under are admitted into the pit area for free.

Trackside parking is available on first come, first serve basis and includes access to the pit area.

Senoia Raceway is located just five miles west of Senoia, GA on Georgia Highway 16. Easy access from both Interstate 85 or Interstate 75.

For more information, visit the Senoia Raceway website at or call the speedway at 404.796.1435.

Official Results from Saturday, July 5, 2014

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model (Feature): 1-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville 2-Dana Eiland, Phenix City, AL 3-Shane Fulcher, Thomaston 4-Austin Horton, Grantville 5-Pat Wall, Columbus 6-Clifton Moran, Roopville 7-Chad Wallace, LaGrange 8-Corey Payton, Newnan 9-Richard Dale, Winston 10-Tod Darda, LaGrange
Newnan Bonding B Cadet (Firecracker 30): 1-Craig Scott, Newnan 2-Marc Gooden, Lafayette, AL 3-Buck Ussery, LaGrange 4-Parrish Duncan, Newnan 5-Wesley Lyle, Bowden 6-Bubba Gorman, Phenix City, AL 7-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville 8-Roger Arnett, Lanett, AL 9-Bennie Croy, McDonough 10-Paul Holloway, Hampton 11-Jason Miller, Jonesboro 12-Cory Hillman, Douglasville 13-Dusty Jones, LaGrange 14-TJ Joiner, Lithia Springs 15-Charlie Garrett, LaGrange Fast Qualifier: Gooden (15.919 seconds)
Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock (Feature): 1-Chris Steele, Franklin 2-Houston Hatchett, Williamson 3-Nathan McBride, Salem, AL 4-Mike Jenkins, Brooks 5-Ben Steele, Franklin 6-Todd Hatchett, Concord 7-Chad Foster, Griffin 8-Gary Brand, Senoia 9-Sam Carter, Covington 10-Bryson Ussery, LaGrange DNS-Scott Sherrer, Newnan; Tommy Jerrell, Helfin, AL; Ben Wells, Milner Heat Winners: Ben Steele; Wells
Senoia Drug Company Mini Stock (Feature): 1-Brandon Libri, Newnan 2-Harold Leath, Griffin 3-Tim Collier, Hogansville 4-Allen Barber, Douglasville 5-Matt Thompson, Douglasville 6-Cassie Dingler-Still, Newnan DNS-Gary Parker, Barnesville DQ-Brandon Brock, Hampton (protest refusal) Heat Winner: Libri
A1 Hydraulics Bomber (Feature): 1-Paul Walters, Valley, AL 2-Winford Minix, Senoia 3-John Holloway, Griffin 4-Josh Roddy, Palmetto 5-Alex Rudolph, Griffin 6-David Johnson, Griffin 7-JimJackson, Zebulon 8-Carley Arnett, Lanett, AL 9-Jay Conner, Alvaton 10-Jonathan Hemmings, Newnan 11-George Purgason, Hogansville DNS-Bobby Arnold, Newnan Heat Winners: Minix; Walters
Modified Mini (Feature): 1-Dustin Smith, Carrollton 2-Dorough Bright, Newnan 3-Todd Brewster, Villa Rica



Leave a Reply

to top