(Senoia, GA – September 28, 2019)  The 4th Annual Showdown at Senoia opened on Friday night an overflowing pit area and racers anticipating their opportunity to etch their names in the fifty-year-old track’s record books.  The season ending racing extravaganza has quickly developed into a ‘must see, must race’ event for short track racing enthusiasts and racers.


“We had over 150 drivers here tonight,” said promoter Mayes Massey. “And we still have three more classes to add to the show tomorrow (Saturday) night.”


A few drivers scheduled to compete in Saturday night’s Billy Clanton Classic for the Super Late Models chose to gain some valuable track time and competed in other divisions on Friday Night.  Winston’s Michael Page, Zebulon’s Shane Clanton along with Senoia’s Ashton Winger and Clint Smith took advantage of the special event opportunity by competing during opening night.


Page dominated the Limited Late Model Showdown feature.  The winner of Showdown features in all three of the previous years events jumped low at the drop of the green flag while pole sitter Glenn Morris of Fayetteville slid up into the middle groove.  Clint Smith charged into the high line creating the weekend’s first three wide tussle for the lead.  Michael Page won the drag race to turn three and then pulled away from Smith and Morris.  Clint Smith would drop only a couple laps later with mechanical issues.


Michael Page has become a master of racing through traffic on the tight confines of Senoia Raceway.  He took advantage of long spans of green flag racing to snake his way through lapped cars while LaGrange’s Dennis Hale made is way into the second place position.  Page would go on to lap all but the top six drivers in the race winning his second Limited Late Model Showdown title and his first since the inaugural event in 2016.  Hale ended up second followed by Alabama’s Russ Ogletree in third, Winston’s Landon Bagby fourth and Tyrone’s Jody Knowles in fifth.


A field of twenty-seven Crate Late Models were on hand for the opening round of racing at the Showdown.  Alabama’s Cruz Skinner led the field in qualifying and then led the field flag to flag in the feature.  Skinner felt some pressure over the final five laps of the feature when he, Dylan Knowles and Michael Page caught up to the lapped cars.


On the final lap Skinner dove low in turn four with slower cars holding him up while Knowles shot into a gap in the middle of the track.  Page saw an opening along the outside concrete creating a wild charge to the checkers.  Skinner picked the correct line winning the race while Page snuck past Knowles inching him at the line for second place.  LaGrange’s Colby Darda ran fourth while Panama City, Florida’s Ryan Crane was fifth.


Alabama’s Dylan Knowles ran double-duty on Friday night as well competing in both the Crate Late Models and then the Late Model Sportsman division.  Knowles showcased his speed early on holding back the advances of Ashton Winger and Shane Clanton.  The twenty-two-year-old hot shoe would lead the entire race to win thirty-sixth career feature race at Senoia Raceway.  Clanton ended up second with Winger holding on for third after bouncing his ride off the wall in turn three on the final lap.  Florida’s Colton Leyendecker was fourth followed by Byron’s Wiley McDaniel in fifth.


Track champion Curtis Turner continued his incredible season in the Bombers with a Showdown feature victory.  The Brooks’ driver held off Macon’s Brandon McDaniel for the win.  Whitesburg’s Derrick Matthews finished in third after dropping to the pits right before the initial green flag and then rejoining the field at the back for the start of the race.


Marietta’s Rick ‘Super Fly’ Ricks won the opening round of racing for the Hot Shots.  The defending Hot Shot Showdown champion goes into the Saturday night race with the points advantage over Dallas’ Kenny Clark and Cory Greene of Griffin.


Fourteen-year-old Braxtin Barber won the Charger feature.  Dallas’ Will McConnell finished second after being involved in a caution at lap four.  Villa Rica’s Todd Brewster was third.


The racing action continues tonight (Saturday, September 28) with the Billy Clanton Classic presented by Super K Express headlining the show.  The Super Late Model winner will take home a winner’s share in excess of $10,000.


For the full schedule of the Showdown at Senoia events along with ticket prices, reserved seating, camping, special attractions, promotions and additional information, visit the track website at or call the speedway at 770.599.6161.


Official Results – Friday, September 27, 2019  (Showdown Shoot-Out)


Limited Late Models (Feature): 1-Michael Page, Winston  2-Dennis Hale, LaGrange  3-Russ Ogletree, Phenix City, AL  4-Landon Bagby, Winston  5-Jody Knowles, Tyrone  6-Jacques Daniel, Cartersville  7-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  8-Marty Lunsford, Newnan  9-Cass Fowler, Acworth  10-Jimmy Johnson, Monroe  11-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville  12-Dale Thurman, Cartersville  13-Rucker Orr, Newnan  14-Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey  15-Shane Fulcher, Thomaston  16-Chris Fennell, Temple  17-Andy Morris, Canton  18-Jamie Carr, LaGrange  19-Jimmy Price, Oxford  20-Matt Wilson, Mansfield  21-Oliver Gentry, Newnan  22-Clint Smith, Senoia  23-John Anderson, Monroe  Fast Qualifier: Morris (15.071 seconds/89.6 mph)


Crate Late Models (Feature): 1-Cruz Skinner, Oxford, AL  2-Michael Page, Winston  3-Dylan Knowles, Lanett, AL  4-Colby Darda, LaGrange  5-Ryan Crane, Panama City, FL  6-Tanner Collins, Franklin  7-Logan Palmer, Acworth  8-Chase Baker, LaGrange  9-Lamar Haygood, Douglasville  10-Luther Jenkins, Waleska  11-Jimmy Waldrop, Seflin, FL  12-Blake Craft, Lavonia  13-Austin Aldridge, Temple  14-Marty Massey, Winston  15-Morgan Alexander, Jackson  16-Wayne Harbin, Sharpsburg  17-Cody Overton, Evans  18-Scott Land, Eufala, AL  19-Jordan Benefield, Carrollton  20-Blant Duke, Whitesburg  21-Dusty Jones, LaGrange  22-Jake Traylor, LaGrange  23-Tina Johnson, Senoia  24-Ty Ellis, Covington  25-Michael Queen, Cartersville  26-Jake Rainey, Hiram  DNS-Jamie Maurice, McDonough  Fast Qualifier: Skinner (15.055 seconds/89.7 mph)


Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Dylan Knowles, Lannett, AL  2-Shane Clanton, Zebulon  3-Ashton Winger, Senoia  4-Colton Leyendecker, Holt, FL  5-Wiley McDaniel, Byron  6-Booger Brooks, Chatsworth  7-Ted Minnix, McDonough  8-Steve Pate, Heflin, AL  9-Cole Compton, Macon  10-Scott Shelton, Fayetteville  11-Chris Arnett, Lannett, AL  12-Austin Brumbelow, Winder  13-Scott Amoson, Newnan  14-Rickey Payton, Newnan  15-Jordan Benefield, Carrollton  16-McKenna Nelms, Newnan  17-Mike Abercrombie, Jackson  18-Jamie Maurice, Locust Grove  19-Parrish Duncan, Newnan  20-Cody Overton, Evans  21-Jason Turner, McDonough  DNS-Chris Sizemore, Canton  Fast Qualifier: Knowles (15.175 seconds/88.9 mph)


Bomber (Feature):  1-Curtis Turner, Brooks  2-Brandon McDaniel, Macon  3-Derrick Matthews, Whitesburg  4-Dunie Dillard, Douglasville  5-Dustin Smith, Senoia  6-Jody Dillbeck, Dallas  7-Larry Pierce, Griffin  8-John Holder, Milner  9-Craig Boozer, Jenkinsburg  10-Michael Thomas, Whitesburg  11-Jim Jackson, Zebulon  12-David Johnson, Hampton  13-William Blair, Whitesburg  14-Vern Miller, Newnan  15-Dalton Benefield, Carrollton  Fast Qualifier: Turner (16.946 seconds/79.6 mph)


Chargers (Feature):  1-Braxtin Barber, Valley, AL  2-Will McConnell, Dallas  3-Todd Brewster, Villa Rica  4-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  5-Dan Meadows, Newnan  6-Shane Duncan  7-Lucas Pittman, Grantville  8-Dawson Martin, Oxford  9-Scott Gaddy, Newnan  10-Dave McWilliams, Brooks


Hot Shots (Feature): 1-Rick Ricks, Marietta  2-Kenny Clark, Dallas  3-Cory Greene, Griffin  4-Ernie Turner, Douglasville  5-Tommy Smith, Forsyth  6-Richard Powell, Dallas  7-Robert Holder, Griffin  8-Stacey Henderson, Senoia  9-Cory Wilson, Locust Grove



Leave a Reply

to top