(Senoia, GA – June 16, 2019)  Senoia’s Clint ‘Cat Daddy’ Smith has been a successful dirt track racer across the southeast for years winning regional, national and local championships including four during the modern era of racing at Senoia Raceway.  Since the track reopened as a dirt track in 2010, Smith has been better than over 1,300 drivers winning his 60th feature race this past Saturday night claiming the checkers in the Limited Late Model division.


Other winners celebrating on a beautiful Saturday evening were Alabama’s Dylan Knowles in the Crate Late Models, Locust Grove’s Jason Williams in the Late Model Sportsman, Jake Sanders from Camp Hill, Alabama in the Hobby and McDonough’s Joshua Till in the Mini Stock.  Also winning races were Brooks’ Curtis Turner in the Bomber and Newnan’s Scott Amoson in the Charger class.  Nearly eighty competitors were competing for the Summer Sizzler 2019 titles.


Clint Smith qualified the fastest in the Limited Late Models on Saturday.  He started on the pole position hammering the gas pedal on the green flag to shoot out into the lead.  It was a lead he would never relinquish winning by almost eight seconds over Alabama’s Dalton Cook.  Russ Ogeltree, also from Alabama, enjoyed his best run of the season at Senoia Raceway finishing in third place while LaGrange’s Jake Traylor and Alabama’s Terrence Nowell completed the top five.

It was a similar scenario in the Crate Late Model division as Jake Knowles qualified for the pole position and shot out to the lead.  But, the racing action behind the Alabama youngster was exciting.  LaGrange’s Colby Darda battled back and forth with former divisional champion Bobby Mills of Griffin.  Mills stole the second place position on a lap nine restart only to have Darda snag it back on a restart two laps later.  The duo ran side by side and nose to tail for the remainder of the way with Darda winning the final chase to finish second behind Knowles.  Mills was third followed by Marietta’s Cody Haskins and Eastonolee’s Matthew Wyatt.  Knowles win was his thirty-second career victory at Senoia which places the 22-year-old in fourth place overall since the track went back to dirt in 2010.

In the Mini Stock main event, Joshua Till used his pole position starting position to gain the lead as well.  The grandson of legendary Senoia Raceway driver Mike Head, Till powered to an over six second lead before Loganville’s Dan Bennett broke loose from the challengers. 


Bennett had to start scratch on the field after not being able to qualify during preliminary action on Saturday afternoon.  The veteran Bennett began his last assault on Till with five laps remaining.  He cut into Till’s lead each lap making up a second every circuit.  He was able to catch Till in the final two turns of the race, but could not overtake the youngster and settled for second place.  It was Till’s first win of the 2019 season.

Also picking up his first win of the year was Scott Amoson in the Chargers.  The former Bomber class competitor moved up into the Sportsman division this season and Amoson is running with the Chargers class to gain experience with the higher powered race cars.  He was challenged early by Loganville’s Chad Atha and Scott Shelton of Fayetteville before pulling away over the final six laps of the race. 

This Saturday, June 22nd Senoia Raceway will host the Southern All-Stars Super Late Model Tour for the second time this season.  The Southern All-Stars were just at Senoia Raceway for a highly competitive race on May 18th in which Winston’s Michael Page pocketed the $4000 first place prize.  Page is currently on a three race win streak at Senoia Raceway for the Southern All-Stars Tour as he clean swept both races in 2018.

Page will try to keep his streak alive on Saturday night looking to cash in on the 22nd Annual Michael Head, Jr. Memorial Race which pays $5454 to win the special 54-lap race.  Also on the racing schedule for Saturday night is the Crate Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Hobby, Bomber, Mini and Chargers divisions.  The Limited Late Model drivers are also invited to compete for the Super Late Model purse.


The gates will open at 3pm for the pit area and trackside parking while the grandstand will open at 5pm.  Opening ceremonies takes place at 7:30pm.  Tickets are $20; kids 5-12 are $10 with four and under admitted for free.  The track will also offer reserved seating along the top row of the grandstand.  Interested parties can call the track at 770.599.6161.


For the full schedule of events along with special attractions, promotions and additional information, visit the track website at or call the speedway at 770.599.6161.


Official Results – Saturday, June 15, 2019   


Limited Late Models (Feature):  1-Clint Smith, Senoia  2-Dalton Cook, Smith’s Station, AL  3-Russ Ogletree, Phenix City, AL  4-Jake Traylor, LaGrange  5-Terrence Nowell, Phenix City, AL  6-Dale Thurman, Cartersville  7-Chaz Haskins, Gray  8-Jacques Daniel, Cartersville  9-Jamie Carr, LaGrange  10-Dennis Hale, LaGrange  11-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  12-Shane Fulcher, Thomaston  Fast Qualifier: Smith – 16.006 seconds/84.4 mph


Crate Late Models (Feature): 1-Dylan Knowles, Lanett, AL  2-Colby Darda, LaGrange  3-Bobby Mills, Griffin  4-Cody Haskins, Marietta  5-Matthew Wyatt, Eastonolee  6-Austin Aldridge, Temple  7-Landon Bagby, Winston  8-Marty Massey, Winston  9-Wayne Harbin, Sharpsburg  10-Tina Johnson, Senoia  11-Jamie Maurice, McDonough  12-Morgan Alexander, Jackson  13-Lee Fuller, Newnan  14-Danny Harrington, LaGrange  Fast Qualifier: Knowles – 16.080 seconds/84.0 mph


Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Jason Williams, Locist Grove  2-Jason Turner, McDonough  3-Billy Stevenson, Locust Grove  4-Jamie Nicholson, Jr., Locust Grove  5-McKenna Nelms, Newnan  6-Shane Payton, Newnan  7-William Blair, Whitesburg  8-Todd Brewster, Villa Rica  9-Braxtin Barber, Valley, AL  10-Parris Simmons, Baldwin  11-Ted Minnix, McDonough  12-Hunter Worley, Alvaton  13-Wade Walker, Dadeville, AL  14-Richard Dale, Winston  15-Davey Crockett  16-Mike Abercrombie, Jackson  Fast Qualifier: Nicholson, Jr. – 16.230 seconds/83.2 mph


Hobby (Feature):  1-Jake Sanders, Camp Hill, AL  2-Landon DeGraff, Barnesville  3-James Swanger, Whitesburg  4-Keith West, Powder Springs  5-Brandon Jones, Newnan  6-TJ Joiner, Lithia Springs  7-Larry Bednar, Locust Grove  8-Ryan Ray, Mableton  Fast Qualifier: Sanders – 16.102 seconds/83.6 mph


Bomber (Feature): 1-Curtis Turner, Brooks  2-Vern Miller, Newnan  3-Larry Pierce, Griffin  4-Shannon Stephens, Franklin  5-TJ Boetz, Midland  6-Justin Bonnett, McDonough  7-Dustin Smith, Senoia  DQ-Dalton Benefield, Carrollton (light)  Fast Qualifier: Turner – 17.912 seconds/75.4 mph


Mini Stock (Feature): 1-Joshua Till, McDonough  2-Dan Bennett, Loganville  3-Bob Faulkner, Newnan  4-Lonnie Patterson, Williamson  5-Ernie Turner, Douglasville  6-Cory Greene, Griffin  7-Tommy Smith, Forsyth  8-Phillip Wallace, Locust Grove  9-Cody Lively, Locust Grove   10-Tommy Faulkner, Newnan  11-Syacey Henderson, Senoia  12-Cale Burford, Milner  13-Robert Holder, Griffin  Fast Qualifier: Till – 18.122 seconds/74.5 mph


Chargers (Feature #1):  1-Scott Amoson, Newnan  2-Chad Atha, Loganville  3-Scott Shelton, Fayetteville  4-Dave McWilliams, Brooks  5-John Holcomb, Williamson  6-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  7-Kelly Donnell  8-Natahn Farrow, LaGrange  9-Lucas Pittman, Grantville  10-Kayla Boswell, Winston



Leave a Reply

to top