(Senoia, GA)  Ten time United Sprint Car Series National Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee added another notch to his USCS win column at Senoia Raceway on Friday night.  Joining Gray in victory lane was the 2012 Senoia Raceway late model champion Jason Williams of Locust Grove.  Williams topped a strong field of late models to win his only appearance at Senoia Raceway this season.


Terry Gray, who started from the pole position, bested defending USCS National Champion Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas for the win in the 20-lap Senoia Summer Nationals IV night one preliminary. Gray’s team-mate, twenty year old female sprint car star Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee raced across the finish line in third place. Current USCS National point’s leader, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas finished in fourth place and Rookie of the Year contender, Curt Terrell from Bartlett, Tennessee completed the top five drivers at the finish.


Racin’ Jason Williams continued his strong September (won at Dixie Speedway on September 14) with a dominating win over the 2013 track champion at Senoia Raceway, Glenn Morris of Fayetteville.  Jenkinsburg’s Trey White took home third place ahead of LaGrange’s Tod Darda and Dennis Hale.  This was Williams only appearance of the season at the 3/8ths mile speed plant where he took home the points title a year earlier.


Other winners on Friday evening were Alabama’s Sean Hosey in the USCS Mini Sprints, Paul Holloway of Hampton in the Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Barnesville’s Gary Parker in the Mini Stocks and Peachtree City’s Randy Cornwell in the Bombers.  Cornwell’s victory inched him within striking distance of the track points title for the Bomber division.


The opportunity for drivers to snag a position or two in the final track points were washed away on Saturday as rain moved in early and stayed throughout the afternoon forcing the cancellation of the second leg of the weekend.  The weather related cancellation put the final mark on a season that has not been kind to drivers, fans or the promoters of Senoia Raceway.


“How else would this season end than with a rain-out,” said promoter Tim Moses.  “I have taken a hard hit this season with all the rainouts and rain effected events.  It’s not easy depending on something you have no control over.”


The track is currently planning a special year end gathering to honor their divisional champions, top drivers, rookie of the year winners and other season related awards.  Presentations and point fund bonus will be awarded at this ceremony.  More details will be released as they are finalized.


Official Results from September 20, 2013

USCS Outlaw Sprints

(Feature)  1-Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN  2-Tim Crawley, Benton, AR  3-Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN  4-Derek Hagar, Marion, AR  5-Curt Terrell, Bartlett, TN  6-Lee Moore, Tuscaloosa, AL  7-Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS  8-Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS  9-Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS  10-Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC

USCS Winged Mini Sprints

(Feature)  1-Sean Hosey  2-Mike Magic  3-Bob Trapino  4-Kyle Amerison  5-Cassie Klneke  6-Tyler Price  7-Shawn Fitzgerald  8-Scott Berkheiser  DNS: Brandon Taylor; Bobby Zaiontz

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models

(Feature)  1-Jason Williams, Locust Grove  2-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville 3-Trey White, Jenkinsburg  4-Tod Darda, LaGrange  5-Dennis Hale, LaGrange  6-Dana Eiland, Phenix City, AL  7-Chad Wallace, LaGrange  8-Blake Griffin, Greenville  9-Corey Payton, Newnan  10-Jayce Southwell, Griffin  11-Craig Scott, Newnan  12-Marcus Caswell, Newnan  DNS: Maddie Crane, Fayetteville

Newnan Bonding B Cadets

(Feature)  1-Paul Holloway, Hampton  2-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville  3-Roger Arnett, Lanett, AL  4-Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey  5-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  6-Jason Miller, Fayetteville

Mini Stock

(Feature)  1-Gary Parker, Barnesville  2-Bobby Arnold, Newnan  3-Alex Rudolph, Griffin  4-Tim Pedigrew, Newnan  5-Robert Caldwell, Senoia  6-Rocky Johnson, Douglasville  7-Brandon Libri, Newnan  DNS: Brandon Brock, Hampton


(Feature)  1-Randy Cornwell, Peachtree City  2-Paul Walters, Valley, AL  3-Jonathan Hemmings, Newnan  4-Mike Ray, Riverdale  5-George Purgason, Hogansville  6-Michael Nelms, Newnan  DQ-Wilson Boozer, Locust Grove  DNS: Winford Minix, Senoia


Leave a Reply

to top