(Senoia, GA – July 17, 2020)  One night removed from a rainstorm that dumped nearly two inches on a thirsty race track, Brandon Overton took advantage of a rare tacky, sticky racing surface at Senoia Raceway shattering the old track record by nearly three tenths of a second.  His speed did not change much during the Southern Nationals Super Late Model feature as he won going away pocketing the $3,500 top prize.


The travelling series which encompasses a sixteen day stretch featuring eleven races at eleven different race tracks across four southeastern tracks rolled through Senoia Raceway on Thursday evening and Evans’ Brandon Overton finally claimed a win at a track he has been shut out at for several years.  Overton held off South Carolina’s Chris ‘Smokey’ Madden for his second win on the series schedule this season.  He was the series champion last summer.


Madden led the race out of the gate while Overton battled with Florida’s Mark Whitener for the second place position.  Overton and Whitener swapped that spot until Overton finally secured it near the halfway mark of the feature.


As Madden reached lapped traffic on lap 20, Overton closed the gap and took the lead on an inside move in turn one on lap 27.  He then took off and separated himself from Madden to claim the win.  Jesup’s Steven Roberts also made a late race move to snare third as Winston’s Michael Page and Florida’s Joseph Joiner rounded out the top five finishers.


Other winner’s on Thursday evening included Florida’s Mark Whitener claiming the Crate Late Model feature while Alabama veteran Dana Eiland won the Late Model Sportsman feature.  Newcomer Jonathan Montgomery of Monroe topped the field of Chargers.


Senoia Raceway will take this weekend off from racing and set their sights on the Southern Outlaw Hobby Series making their first ever track appearance on Saturday, July 25th.  The series will headline the Stock Car Shoot-Out honoring Zach Jones and will offer a record purse for the Hobby Stock division.  Joining the show will be the Crate Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Chargers and Mini Stock divisions.


For more information on these race events and more, visit the track website at   Information is also available on the track’s Facebook page, their Twitter feed and Instagram shares.  You can also call the speedway at 770.599.6161.


Official Results – Thursday, July 16, 2020   


Southern Nationals Super Late Models (Feature):  1-Brandon Overton, Evans  2-Chris Madden, Grays Court, SC  3-Steven Roberts, Jesup  4-Michael Page, Winston  5-Joseph Joiner, Jupiter, FL  6-Donald McIntosh, Dawsonville  7-Jason Croft, Woodstock  8-Mark Whitener, Middleburg, FL  9-Cory Hedgecock, Louden, TN  10-Austin Horton, Whitesburg  11-Ross Bailes, Clover, SC  12-Zach Leonhardi, Cartersville  13-Pearson Lee Williams, Dublin  14-Cruz Skinner, Oxford, AL  15-Tyler Millwood, Kingston  16-Payton Freeman, Commerce  17-Ryan Crane, Panama City, FL  18-Ahnna Parkhurst, Evans  19-Matt Dooley, Brooks  20-Dalton Polston, Lithia Springs  21-Brian Nuttall, Jr., Claxton  22-Jake Knowles, Rome        Fast Qualifier:  ***New Track Record*** Brandon Overton (12.684 seconds / 106.5 mph)  Entries-35


Crate Late Models (Feature): 1-Mark Whitener, Middleburg, FL  2-Mason Massey, Mooresville, NC  3-Dylan Knowles, Lannett, AL  4-Bubba Pollard, Senoia  5-Jamie Maurice, Forsyth  6-Wayne Harbin, Sharpsburg  7-Logan Palmer, Acworth  8-Kyler Haygood, Douglasville  9-Marty Massey, Winston  10-Tyler Mimbs, Dublin  11-Dusty Jones, LaGrange  12-McKenna Nelms, Newnan  13-Larry Waters  14-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  15-Tracey Jorgerson  16-Phillip Deal, Tyrone  Fast Qualifier: ***New Track Record***  Mason Massey  (13.855 seconds / 97.4 mph)


Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Dana Eiland, Phenix City, AL  2-Garrett Mosley  3-Taylor Cole, Cartersville  4-Braxtin Barber, Valley, AL  5-Shun Oreo Thomas, Westminster, SC  6-Peyton Stevenson, Locust Grove  7-Jamie Nicholson, Jr., Locust Grove  8-Jason Turner, McDonough  9-Monte Vaughn, Lizella  10-John Strickland, Jackson  11-Mike Abercrombie, Jackson  12-Brandon McDaniel, Macon  13-Bailey Williams, Fayetteville  14-Wiley McDaniel, Byron  15-Morgan Alexander, Locust Grove  16-Ricky Culpepper, Hamilton   Fast Qualifier: Culpepper (14.432 seconds / 93.6 mph)


Chargers (Feature):  1-Jonathan Montgomery, Monroe  2-Jamie Godbee, Carrollton  3-Keith West, Powder Springs  4-Olivia Gentry, Newnan  5-Johnny Stinchcomb, Newnan  6-Nathan Pierson, Sharpsburg  7-Dawson Martin, Oxford  8-Kayla Boswell, Winston  9-Jack Smith, McDonough  10-Mike Weed, Franklin  11-Ted Willingham, McDonough  12-James Swanger, Whitesburg   Fast Qualifier: Swanger  (15.243 seconds / 88.6 mph)



Leave a Reply

to top