(Senoia, GA – April 21, 2013)  Trey White powered past Tod Darda at the onset of the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model feature race Saturday night and never looked back posting the wire to wire victory.  It was the Jenkinsburg shoe’s first victory of the season at Senoia Raceway and the third different winner in as many weeks this year.


Lake Spivey’s Dow Kirkland topped the Newnan Bonding B Cadet main event while Roopville’s Clifton ‘Hog Head’ Moran continued his domination in the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks.  Newnan’s Bobby ‘Wild Child’ Arnold made it three different winners for the Mini Stocks as did Newnan’s Joe Spencer in the Modified Mini division.  Jay Conner collected the hardware in the Bombers as he brought home the victory for another Newnan resident.


LaGrange’s Tod Darda won the pole position by winning the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Model qualifying heat race, but Trey White used the top side to his advantage.  White shot out to the lead using the top side momentum to overtake Senoia Raceway’s most successful late model driver the past three plus seasons.  Darda has twenty-two wins since 2010, but could not muster up enough to gain back the top spot from a very fast White.


“It’s a new car, new chassis,” said White in victory lane.  “It has been really good so far.”


Newnan’s Parrish Duncan had the pole position for the Newnan Bonding B Cadets, but he also lost ground on the initial green flag to the outside row.  Dow Kirkland moved past Duncan on the outside of turn two while Alabama’s Roger Arnett shot down to the low side.  Defending division champion, Thomas Mewborn of Greenville, continued Duncan’s slide backwards on the next circuit while Grantville’s Blake Griffin ran fifth.


Kirkland held off a number of serious challenges by Arnett to win his first of the season.  Arnett would finish in the runner-up spot ahead of Mewborn and Duncan.  Seventeen-year-old Newnan high schooler Corey Payton made a late race move to nab a top five.


“I want to thank the kids for riding with me tonight,” said Kirkland who won for the third time in two seasons during Kids Rides in the Race Cars night.  “They help me win these races on their special night.”


Barnesville’s Gary Parker battled with 15-year-old Brandon Libri of Newnan during the early stages of the Mini Stock feature.  The 2011 Mini Stock points champion, Parker, ran the top side while the young gun Libri ran the inside groove.  Libri showed little respect for the feisty veteran as he squeezed Parker against the front stretch wall on lap two and secured the top spot.  A few laps later Libri would drop to the pits.


Bobby ‘Wild Child’ Arnold moved up to tussle with Parker and eventually made a solid move to the outside to become the race’s third different leader.  Parker ran second while a great race for third developed between Griffin’s Bo Chambers and Hampton’s Mark ‘Mad Dog’ Newton.  Chambers and Newton swapped the third place spot back and forth a couple of times during the last ten laps of the main event.


Arnold would pull away to become the division’s third different winner on the season.  Parker would finish second ahead of Chambers, Newton and Senoia rookie driver Scotty Rider.


In the Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stock, Clifton ‘Hog Head’ Moran took advantage of a miscue by Newnan’s Marcus Caswell to win his third straight feature.  The two-time defending divisional champion has now won forty-four races in the two plus seasons he has run at Senoia Raceway in the Hobby Stocks.


Jay Conner and Alabama’s Chris Arnett raced hard in the Bomber feature.  Arnett’s Camaro began to push near the halfway mark allowing Conner to power past.  Newnan’s Michael Nelms made it a three way battle for several laps before getting caught up on a wreck with Peachtree City’s Randy Cornwell and Griffin’s David Johnson.


Conner went on to record his second win of the year with Arnett second, Nelms third, Palmetto’s Josh ‘Hot’ Roddy fourth and Johnson fifth.


Newnan’s Joe Spencer was declared the winner of the Modified Mini feature after Sharpsburg’s Robbie Scadron was light at the scales.


This Saturday, April 27th, is Lucky Ladies Night at Senoia Raceway.  All ladies will be admitted to the grandstand for only $5.  All divisions will be racing including the Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models, Newnan Bonding B Cadets, Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks, Mini Stocks, Bombers and Modified Minis.


This Saturday the pits open at 5pm.  Grandstands at 6pm.  Hot laps crank up at 7:15pm and the kids rides in the race cars will take place at 7:45pm.  Racing will go green at 8pm.  Grandstand ticket prices will be $12 for adults (ladies only $5); children twelve and under are admitted for free.  Pit passes are $25 for adults; children 4 through 12 are $12; three and under are admitted for free.  Trackside Parking and Tailgating is also available on a limited basis and includes access to the pit area. 


Senoia Raceway is located just five miles west of Senoia, GA on Georgia Highway 16.  Easy access from both Interstate 85 or Interstate 75.


For more information, visit the Senoia Raceway website at www.senoiaraceway.com or call the speedway at 404.796.1435.


Official Results from April 20, 2013

Jodeco Auto Sales Late Models:

(Feature) 1-Trey White, Jenkinsburg  2-Tod Darda, LaGrange  3-Glenn Morris, Fayetteville  4-Thomas Lewis, Hamilton  5-Brand Lewis, Hamilton  (Heat Winner) Darda

Newnan Bonding B Cadets:

(Feature) 1-Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey  2-Roger Arnett, Lanett, AL  3-Thomas Mewborn, Greenville  4-Parrish Duncan, Newnan  5-Corey Payton, Newnan  6-Blake Griffin, Grantville  7-Billy Stevenson, Stockbridge  8-Jason Miller, Fayetteville  9-Hunter Worley, Alvaton  10-Jayce Southwell, Brooks  (Heat Winners) Duncan & Kirkland

Summit Racing Equipment Hobby Stocks:

(Feature) 1-Clifton Moran, Roopville  2-Marcus Caswell, Newnan  3-Kerry Carden, Brooks  4-Chad Foster, Griffin  5-Sam Carter, Covington  (Heat Winner) Caswell

Mini Stocks:

(Feature) 1-Bobby Arnold, Newnan  2-Gary Parker, Barnesville  3-Bo Chambers, Griffin  4-Mark Newton, Hampton  5-Scotty Rider, Newnan  6-Robert Caldwell, Sharpsburg  7-Bailey Temples, McDonough  8-Brandon Brock, Hampton  9-Jeremy Stokley, LaGrange  10-Brandon Libri, Newnan  11-Eddie Shepard, Stockbridge  (Heat Winners) Parker & Libri


(Feature) 1-Jay Conner, Newnan  2-Chris Arnett, Opelika, AL  3-Michael Nelms, Newnan  4-Josh Roddy, Palmetto  5-David Johnson, Griffin  6-Mike Ray, Riverdale  7-Dean Carey, Newnan  8-George Purgason, Hogansville  9-Randy Cornwell, Peachtree City  (Heat Winner) Conner & Arnett

Modified Minis:

(Feature) 1-Joe Spencer, Newnan  2-Heath Brewster, Bremen  3-Todd Brewster, Vila Rica  DQ-Robbie Scadron, Sharpsburg  (Heat Winner) Todd Brewster


Leave a Reply

to top