(Senoia, GA – August 18, 2019)  The highly anticipated return of the winged outlaw sprint cars to the tight confines of Senoia Raceway was welcomed with a packed house on Saturday night and two time Senoia Summer Nationals winner Eric Riggins of Charlotte, North Carolina did not disappoint the masses.  Riggins held off all challenges leading all thirty laps of the main event to capture his third title.  He also captured the victories in 2014 and 2015.


“It feels really good to win on this slick track,” said Riggins afterwards in victory lane.  “I was trying to find moisture near the top of turn two to help keep my momentum.  It worked!”


Joining Riggins as victors on this special night were Douglasville’s Mason Massey for the second straight week in the Crate Late Models, Alabama’s Dylan Knowles in the Late Model Sportsman, Jake Sanders of Camp Hill, Alabama in the Hobby, Griffin’s Larry Pierce in the Bomber and Andrew Moody of Temple in the Chargers.


“The fans saw a great show tonight,” said promoter Mayes Massey. “Great racing.  Fast cars.  And we had everyone headed towards home by 10:30pm.  Some even wandered the pit area before hitting the highway.  That’s the good night we aim for every weekend.”


Massey’s son, Mason, continued his dramatic ways of winning races.  The current competitor on the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series has been back at his home track for the past couple of weeks winning a week ago Saturday with a last lap pass after making contact with Jake Rainey.


This week Massey ran strong tracking down early race leader Colby Darda from LaGrange.  Darda held the low line while Massey ran up top for several laps.  Darda started to try different grooves on lap 10 allowing Massey to close in.  On lap 12, Darda charged into turn three with Massey also running the low side and the two banged doors.  Massey kept his composure as the two both kept going without spinning.  He took the lead away for good two laps later.


Commerce’s teenage sensation, Payton Freeman, worked past Darda with five laps remaining using the top side of the race track.  Freeman closed the gap on Massey applying pressure, but was unable to get past him.  Wayne Harbin of Sharpsburg moved past Darda a few laps before the end as did Bobby Mills of Griffin and Jamie Maurice of McDonough.


Griffin’s Larry Pierce survived a caution-filled Bomber race to win his first career feature at Senoia Raceway.  The long time competitor was the benefactor of a late race caution for a blown engine on then leader Dustin Smith’s Chevrolet Camaro.  Pierce then hold off Zebulon’s Jim Jackson in a final green, white, checkered finish.


Temple’s Andrew Moody also etched his name in the record book of winning drivers at Senoia Raceway.  Moody claimed his first victory by winning the Chargers race.  Moody nabbed the lead after 15-year-old Oxford driver Dawson Martin lost control of his ride on the front stretch and slammed the inside retaining wall.  McDonouogh’s Brant Hardin was second ahead of Monroe’s thirteen-year-old Trae Kirk in third.


On the strength of his Hobby feature win Saturday night, Jake Sanders also reclaimed the divisional points lead as he moved past Barnesville’s Landon DeGraff.  The two have been in a heated battle for the points championship since June with DeGraff stealing away the number one spot a week earlier.  The two will go into this weekend’s race separated by only thirteen points.


This Saturday night will feature the return of the Super Late Models as Senoia Raceway welcomes the Southern All-Stars in for the 22nd Annual Michael Head, Jr. Memorial Race.  The special event was rained out in mid-June and rescheduled for this Saturday.  The Super Late Models will compete for $5454 to win.  Winston’s Michael Page is on a three race win streak at Senoia Raceway claiming the previous three Southern All-Stars events at the ‘South’s Baddest Bull Ring’.  Page is fresh off a $10,000 pay day as he won the ‘Governor’s Cup’ at Talladega Short Track on August 10th.  Also racing this Saturday will be the Crate Late Models, Late Model Sportsman, Chargers, Hobby Stocks, Mini Stocks and Hot Shots. 


The gates will open at 3pm for the pit area and trackside parking while the grandstand will open at 5pm.  Opening ceremonies takes place at 7:30pm.  Tickets are $20; kids 5-12 are $5 with four and under admitted for free.  Pit passes and trackside parking tickets are $35, kids 5-12 are $20 and four and under are admitted for free with an adult.


For the full schedule of events along with special attractions, promotions and additional information, visit the track website at www.senoiaraceway.com or call the speedway at 770.599.6161.


Official Results – Saturday, August 17, 2019   


USCS Sprint Cars Senoia Summer Nationals X (Feature):  1-Eric Riggins, Charlotte, NC  2-Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC  3-Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN  4-Mark Ruel, Jr., Jacksonville, FL  5-Justin Barger, Cornelius, NC  6-Hayden Martin, Olive Branch, MS  7-Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS  8-Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN  9-Matt Kurtz, Jacksonville, FL  10-Joe Larkn, Suwanee  11-Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS  12-Chase Howard, Nesbit, MS  13-Tim Perry, Mooresville, NC  14-Brian Thomas, Pendegrass  15-Tony Agin, Ft. Myers, FL  16-Bob Auld, Largo, FL  17-Eric Gunderson  18-Danny Oliver, Pendgrass  19-Mark Lott, Southaven, MS  Dash winner: Perry  Heat Race Winners: Gray; Bridges; Riggins


USCS 600cc Mini Sprints (Feature): 1-Mike Hall, Knoxville, TN  2-Mike Magic, Winder  3-Michael Miller, Winder  4-Chase Garner, Tuscaloosa, AL  5-Kyle Amerson, Matthews, AL  DNS: Russell Ramsey, Lake City  Dash winner: Hall


Crate Late Models (Feature): 1-Mason Massey, Douglasville  2-Payton Freeman, Commerce  3-Wayne Harbin, Sharpsburg  4-Bobby Mills, Griffin  5-Jamie Maurice, McDonough  6-Colby Darda, LaGrange  7-Blant Duke, Whitesburg  8-Landon Bagby, Winston  9-Marty Massey, Winston  10-Tanner Collins, Franklin  11-Lamar Haygood, Douglasville  12-Chase Baker, LaGrange  13-Dow Kirkland, Lake Spivey  14-Heath Carr, Ashland, AL  15-Shane Payton, Newnan  Fast Qualifier:  Massey – 15.107 seconds/89.3 mph


Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Dylan Knowles, Lannett, AL  2-Jamie Nicholson, Jr., Locust Grove  3-McKenna Nelms, Newnan  4-Jason Williams, Locust Grove  5-Billy Stevenson, Locust Grove  6-Jack Mills, Griffin  7-Scott Shelton, Fayetteville  8-Brandon Bright, Newnan  9-Jason Turner, McDonough  10-Kole Hardy, Nicholson  Fast Qualifier: Knowles – 15.501 seconds/87.1 mph


Hobby (Feature):  1-Jake Sanders, Camp Hill, AL  2-Keith West, Powder Springs  3-Ben Wells, Milner  4-Landon DeGraff, Barnesville  5-Chris Arnett, Lannett, AL  6-Mike Hillman, Villa Rica  7-TJ Joiner, Lithia Springs  8-JR Hardy, Covington  9-Michael Couch, Senoia  10-Blake Harmon, Mansfield  11-Brandon Henderson, Senoia  Fast Qualifier: Harmon – 15.556 seconds/86.8 mph  *new track record*


Bomber (Feature): 1-Larry Pierce, Griffin  2-Jim Jackson, Zebulon  3-Shannon Stephens, Franklin  4-Dustin Smith, Senoia  5-Carley Arnett, Lannett, AL  6-Curtis Turner, Brooks  DQ: Derrick Matthews, Whitesburg  Fast Qualifier: Turner – 16.715 seconds/80.7 mph


Chargers (Feature #1):  1-Andrew Moody, Temple  2-Brant Hardin, McDonouogh  3-Trae Kirk, Monroe  4- Landon Frix, Newnan  5- Lucas Pittman, Grantville  6-Jason Stevenson, Locust Grove  7-Dawson Martin, Oxford  8-Scott Amoson, Newnan  9-Jimmy Baxter, Jr., Newnan



Leave a Reply

to top